2016 – 2017 NEF Graduate Nursing Scholarship Winners

Meet our winners >

Jerelyn Peixoto Weiss

Executive Director of NEF, Jerelyn Weiss has served as a NEF Board Member from 2011 through 2015 and as the NEF Web and Social Media Committee Co-Chair from 2012 through 2015. Read more ...

Purchasing "Cards for Causes" is a win, win action. When you order cards for any occasion through "Cards for Causes" and you acknowledge Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. as the recipient charitable organization, your contribution provides you with beautiful specialty cards and contributes to graduate nursing education scholarships!

Mission, Vision And Values Of The Nurses Educational Funds, Inc.


To promote leadership through scholarship support for professional nurses seeking  masters and doctoral degrees in nursing education, practice, service and research.


To be the national leader in providing graduate funds for nurse leaders in education, practice, service and research.


Excellence, Scholarship, Diversity, Stewardship

Nurses Educational Funds, Inc.

Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. Celebrates New Endowed Scholarships for Graduate Nursing Education at the 2016 NEF Gala

More than 50 guests assembled to celebrate Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. and two new Endowed Scholarships and their respective honorees on November 2, 2016, at the Griffis Faculty Club in New York City. The setting was truly elegant with a harpist playing while nursing and business leaders invested in graduate nursing education greeted old friends and initiated new networking acquaintances.

Read more>

Hear From Our Scholars


NEF’s Circle of Scholars

NEF Circle of Scholars, a formal network among NEF scholars was created in 2016 to serve as a communication platform for the thousands of nurses who have been recipients of NEF scholarships. We hope past NEF scholars will regularly update NEF on their accomplishments as nurse leaders so we can share their successes via our NEF Web Site, on Facebook, and on Twitter. We also hope that as the NEF scholars continue to advance in their nursing careers they will remember the next generation of nurse leaders and become lifelong supporters of Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. Please read more about the Circle of Scholars under “Scholars” ‘Circle of Scholars’.

Nursing Scholarships for Graduate Education

Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. (NEF) is a not-for-profit organization which seeks and distributes funds to baccalaureate prepared registered nurses who are in need of nursing scholarship assistance for graduate study. NEF is administered by a Board of Directors comprised of prominent leaders in nursing, business, and other professions. Nurses comprise the majority of board members.

NEF has been in existence for over 100 years! It was in 1912 that the first two Isabel Hampton Robb scholarships were awarded to two nurses, Cecelia Evans and Lisle French. From then on NEF has continued to support nursing professionals motivated to seek graduate degrees. With the support of those who value the critical need for:

  • nursing educators
  • advanced nurse clinicians
  • nurse researchers

NEF, the largest, single, private, professionally endorsed source of funds for advanced study in nursing will continue with this work for the next 100 years!

Support a Graduate Nurse's Education With a Donation To Nurses Educational Funds, Inc

Nurses Educational Funds, Inc, encourages all those who have ever been grateful for the care, commitment, and dedication of a nurse, to donate today to the Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. an organization solely devoted to raising money to support graduate nursing education.

read more >


News and Updates

Gala Reception at the Griffis Faculty Club on November 2, 2016

Click on the photo to view the gallery

Board Members in the News

Roy L. Simpson, The Friends of the National Library of Medicine (FNLM) recognized Roy L. Simpson, DNP, RN, DPNAP, FAAN, with the Nursing Informatics Award, at its 2016 Awards Gala held in Washington, D.C. on September 13. Dr. Simpson is Clinical Professor, Emory Umiversity School of Nursing and Vice President of Nursing, Cerner Corporation. The FNLM Awards Gala celebrates advances in public health, medicine, and health communications.

Madeleine Sugimoto, NEF Board Member, was on the Tony Guida's CUNY Network New York Show on March 2, 2016 discussing her experiences as a very young child living in the Japanese Internment Camps, during World War II. The segment can be watched online now.

Judith Vessey has been chosen as one of Sigma Theta Tau "International Honor Society of Nursing 2016 Nurse Researcher Award Recipients"! The research awards will be presented in South Africa in August 2016.

Mary Ann McLaughlin
Recipient of the NEF Eleanor C. Lambertsen Memorial Fund Award in 2014- 2015, with Nurses Educational Funds, Inc. Vice President, Cynthia Sculco at the Columbia University Teachers College Annual Research Conference.